Home • How This Works • Scottish DNA community • Project results • Other DNA Projects • Resources • Education • Feedback
 

 

Scottish Clans and Families DNA Projects

Please let us know if you would like your Surname or Clan project added to the list below.

Alasdair MacDonald, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, Scotland. scottishdna@strath.ac.uk

 

The Scottish Clans DNA project at Family Tree is at: www.familytreedna.com/public/Scottishdna If you are already a project member at some other surname project then you can merely click on the "request to join" on the upper left hand corner.

You can also have your DNA tested by going to: www.familytreedna.com/surname_join.asp?code=R56404 You may need to enter the Code R56404 if your browser doesn't send all the requested codes.

 

Many of the Scottish Clans and Families are also involved in DNA testing programs. A summary of those programs can be found at the URLs below:  

 

Surnames DNA Projects

Armstrong: www.familytreedna.com/public/armstrong/index.aspx

Baird: bairddna.com

Bruce: www.small-stuff.com/BRUCE/results.htm

Elder: www.familytreedna.com/public/Elder/index.aspx

Gordon DNA Project: www.thegordondnaproject.com

Lamont: www.lamont-young.com/lamont/

McCown: www.mccown.org/pages/dna.htm

MacDonald DNA Project: dna-project.clan-donald-usa.org

MacGregor DNA Project: www.familytreedna.com/public/MacGregor/

MacLeod DNA Project: www.clanmacleod.org/

Peden: www.familytreedna.com/public/peden/index.aspx

Scott: www.familytreedna.com/public/ScottDNAproject/index.aspx

Walker: www.familytreedna.com/public/Walker DNA Project mtDNA Results

Young: www.lamont-young.com/

 

Clans and Families:

Clan Bell: www.clanbell.org/

Clan Blair: blairgenealogy.com/dna/

Clan Boyd: www.ftdna.com/public/boyddnanet www.clanboyd.org

Clan Campbell: www.ccsna.org/

Clan Cameron: www.clan-cameron.org/dna/

Clan Chisholm (also Chism, Chisum): www.clanchisholmsociety.org/

Clan Donnachaidh (also Clan Robertson): www.donnachaidh.com/
  www.familytreedna.com/(otbcvd55zewfut55aaodll55)/public/clandonnachaidh/index.aspx  
  www.robertson.org/   www.donnachaidh.com/Clan%20DNA.htm
  www.electricscotland.com/webclans/m/macdonald_genetic.htm

Durie: www.duriefamily.co.uk

Clan Farquharson: www.farquharson-clan.co.uk/

Clan Fletcher: www.spaceless.com/fletcher/ www.genealogy.fletcher.net/

Clan Galbraith: www.clangalbraith.org/

Clan Kennedy: www.kennedydna.com

Clan Hamilton: www.personal.psu.edu/faculty/g/a/gah4/HamDNA/Results.html

Clan Healy: www.healyfn.com/

Clans Of Ireland: www.theclansofireland.ie/dna.html
   [ Web site and Links to the Clans of Ireland - lots of Scottish DNA is probably here as well]

Clan Irwin: www.clanirwin.org/dnastudy.php

Clan Lindsay www.clanlindsay.com/dna_project.htm
  www.clanlindsay.com/afflect_surname_dna_project.htm

Clan Livingstone: www.clanlivingstone.com/
   www.familytreedna.com/public/livingston_maclea_dna/index.aspx
  users.skynet.be/lancaster/Discussion%20Maclea.htm

Clan MacAulay: www.macaulay.org

Clan MacFarlane: www.familytreedna.com/public/MacFarlane/index.aspx

Clan MacGee: www.mymcgee.com/

Clan MacGregor: www.clangregor.org/macgregor/dna.html

Clan MacInnes: macinnes.org/misc/dnatesting.php

Clan Mackay (also McKay): www.familytreedna.com/public/MackayDNAproject/

Clan MacKenzie: www.electricscotland.com/mackenzie/ and
   www.ftdna.com/surname_join.asp?code=C14461 alan@mkz.com.

Clan MacKinlay: homepages.rootsweb.com/~mckinlay

Clan MacLea: users.skynet.be/lancaster/Discussion%20Maclea.htm

Clan MacLean: www.familytreedna.com/public/clanmaclean/index.aspx
   Sign Up www.familytreedna.com/surname_join.asp?code=U70715&special=true

Clan MacLeod: www.clanmacleod.org and  www.clanmacleodusa.org/DNA%20Study%20Genetics%20Of%20Clan%20Macleod.htm

Clan MacMillian: www.clanmacmillan.org/Genealogy/Adhania%20Y-DNA.PDF

Clan Moffat: ClanMoffatDNAProject@btinternet.com

Clan Morrison: home.mindspring.com/~efholcombe/

Clan OBrien: www.obrienclan.com/DNA.htm

Clan Rattray: www.clanrattray.org/dnaproject.htm

Clan Stirling: stirlingdna.clanstirling.net www.familytreedna.com/surname_join.asp?code=Q12782&special=True

Clan Stewart: www.angelfire.com/nb/stewartdna/

Clan Urquhart: www.urquhart.org/ www.familytreedna.com/public/Urquhart/index.aspx

Wallace: www.familytreedna.com/public/WallaceDNA/ www.clanwallace.org/

 

• Home • How This Works • Scottish DNA community • Project results • Other DNA Projects • Resources • Education • Feedback •
Contact us:
scottishdna@strath.ac.uk